Congratulations to the winners of the Congress Teams for the Edward Whittaker Trophy who were Sam Punch, Tim Rees, Stephen Peterkin and Les Steel. The winners of the Pieter van Dijk Trophy for Congress Pairs were Mike Ash and Robert Ferrari. Their winning result meant that we all listened even more attentively to the Mikes seminar on Sunday morning when he led the discussion around the bidding and play of the hands from the previous day.

The Bronze section also loved their Masterclass with Sandy Duncan and Tim McKay; they said it gave them confidence to learn that the experts also make mistakes.

The October Congress brochure is now available online and in clubs. You will see that we are continuing to experiment with the formula of the various congresses to see if we can attract more players. In October we will be trialling early starts and finishes. Then in December will be using the traditional format once again. After a year of experiments we will decide how to go forward in 2019.

You will also find the 2019 Overseas Congress brochure online. We strongly recommend that you join us in beautiful Croatia. We can’t wait to go back!

Hasan & Julie Choudhury