The team of Brian Short & Alan Goodman, Iain Sime & John Murdoch, Danny Kane & Irving Gordon with Tony Wilkinson as team captain failed to emulate its predecessor and did not qualify for the World Championships nor get a medal.

A disappointing performance in the qualifying Swiss was softened slightly by a third-place finish in the consolation final.