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Third Hand High – Second Hand Low 

Rules for the Opening Lead: 

1) Top of a sequence   (QJ103;    KQJ74;     KJ1094) 

2) Ace from AK    (AK74;     AKQ64;    AK6 

3) Low from an honour   (K74;        Q962;        KJ63 

4) 2NDHighest with no honour  (954;         7632;         83)                                  

 (highest nest time) 

Rule for Second Hand 

“Second Hand Plays Low” . 

When declarer leads a low card from his own hand or dummy and you are next to play – play a low card too. 

If you play a high card “on air” you destroy the value of partner’s high cards. 

 A102    K63    J63  

 

Q63 
N 

W    E 

S 

 

K987 

  

A107 
N 

W    E 

S 

 

 J854 
  

10852 
N 

W    E 

S 

 

K74 

 J54    Q92     AQ9  

 

South leads 4 South leads 2 North leads 3 

What happens if West plays Q? What happens if West plays A? What happens if East plays K? 

And if he plays 3? And if he plays 7? And if he plays 4? 

 

 

Second In – Leave it to Him 

 

 

Rules for Third Hand 

“Third Hand Plays High” 

When partner has already played low it is your job to try to win the trick, or force out declarer’s high card 

For Third Hand “High” means lower of two equal cards, lowest of three or more equal cards 

 

 A84    1074    J54  

 

 Q1075 
N 

W    E 

S 

 

 K32 

  

K532 
N 

W    E 

S 

 

QJ6 

  

K9632 
N 

W    E 

S 

 

Q10 

 J96    A98    A87  

West leads 5. Dummy plays 4. West leads 2 West leads 3. Dummy plays 4 

What happens if East plays 2? If it goes 10-J-A who has Q? What happens if East plays Q? 

And if he plays K? If it went 10-Q-A who has J? And if he plays 10? 

 

Third Man - Does What He Can 

 

  



                    Essential Defence 

SBU 2020             Lesson 15  page 2 

Rule for Fourth Hand 

Win the trick if you can! 

 

Contrast Leading and Third Hand Play 

We lead top of a sequence Third Hand Plays lowest of a sequence 

 low from an honour   an honour if it can beat dummy’s card 
 

 

 

Cover an Honour with an Honour 
 
The best use for an honour card is to beat the card immediately below it in rank: 

 

Aces were Meant for Killing Kings 

 

And Kings for Killing Queens 

 
So when declarer leads an honour Card the Rule for Second Hand Play changes: 

When declarer leads Low  Second Hand Plays Low 

When declarer leads an Honour  Second Hand Covers with another Honour 

But only if covering may promote lower cards into winners 

 

 

Covering in Front of Dummy 

 

 A107    K843    A5  

 

 Q42 
N 

W    E 

S 

 

K983 
  

Q62 
N 

W    E 

S 

 

A107 
  

K632 
N 

W    E 

S 

 

87 

  J65    J95    QJ1094  

 

If South leads 5. West plays 2. If South leads 5 West plays 2. West plays low on any lead 

If South leads J West plays Q If South leads J-West plays Q He can see that K will win  

How many tricks does declarer make? How many tricks does declarer make? the third round once dummy 

How many if West plays the wrong card? has played A 
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Covering Dummy’s Card 

 

 Q6    1074     J6  

 

10743 
N 

W    E 

S 

 

K8 

  

K953 

N 

W    E 

S 

 

Q86 

  

95 

N 

W    E 

S 

 

K432 

 AJ952    AJ2    AQ1087  

 

If dummy leads 6. East plays 8 If dummy leads 4. East plays 6 This time East plays low on J 

If Dummy leads Q East covers If dummy leads 10 East covers  (Especially if South bid hearts) 

with K  with Q His K will be a winner on the 

How many tricks?  fourth round no matter what 
 

 

Rule:  Exceptions 

Cover an unsupported honour  Unless: you can see your card will win a trick later if you keep it 

  you know partner can have no card to promote 

 

 

Rules of Thumb 
 

Cover an Honour with an Honour unless you have 4 or more cards in the suit 

Do not cover Honours in the Trump Suit 


