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Lesson 20 – Quiz Answers 

Defensive Card Play 
 

 

Q 1   Partner is on lead against 3NT by South.  He leads ♥ 6.  What 

should you play on this if dummy contributes the ♥2? 

   Dummy 

   ♥ Q 8 2  

♥ 6 is led    you hold ♥ K T 4  

 

A1  Use the Rule of 11.  11 – 6 = 5.  Declarer has only 1 card higher than 

the ♥ 6.   Partner has probably led the 4th highest card of a long suit headed by 

at least one honour.  This is NT so the honour might be the Ace or the Jack or he 

might have both.  Save your King to capture dummy's Queen.  Play the ♥T.   

 

 

 

Q 2  Your partner is on lead against South's 3NT contract.  Partner leads 

the ♥ K.  What should you play from your hand?  

 

   Dummy 

   ♥ 8 5  

♥ K is led    you hold ♥ 9 6 4  

 

 

A 2  Partner's lead will be from a 4+ card suit headed by ♥ K Q J or 

possibly ♥ K Q T missing the Jack.  If his holding is the latter, he needs your help.  

Should he continue the suit or switch?  Do you have anything in the suit to help?  

He is looking for ♥A or the ♥J.  You have no useful card to help him so discourage 

– by playing the ♥9 ‘High for Hate’   If partner is missing the Jack, he needs you 

to return the suit when you can so that Declarer's Jack is captured.  
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Q 3  Your partner is on lead against South's 3 NT contract.  Partner 

leads the ♥ K.  You play the ♥4 and South wins with the ♥A.   Which card 

should you play when you gain the lead?  

   Dummy 

   ♥ 8 5  

♥ K is led    you hold ♥ J 6 4    

 

A 3  Return partner's suit.  Play the ♥ J.  Be aware of the possibility of 

blocking partner's long suit.  If you play the ♥ 4 your ♥ J will block him on the 

next trick.  Remember ‘High cards from the short hand first’.  You hand is the 

short hand. 

 

Q 4  You are West playing against South's 3NT contract.  Your partner 

led Q which was won by South with the Ace.  Declarer cashes 4 rounds of 

spades, (East having only a singleton).  South now runs off 5 diamond tricks 

starting in dummy and ending in South.  You have to find 3 discards.  Which 3 

cards should you (West) keep?  

     J T 8 7  

     K 3 

     A K Q 6 

     K T 4 

  Dummy      6 4 3 2 

        7 6 5 2 

        5 4 

        A 9 8 
     You - West 

 

A 4  You have to choose between hearts and clubs.  Partner led Q so 

has the J.  Obviously you must keep A.   Keep two hearts so you still have 

one to lead back to partner once the K has gone.   
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Q 5   South is in 4.  Partner leads the J which you win with the A, 

Declarer dropping the Q.  What do you lead now? 

 

     K T 4 

     A K Q T 

     Q 7 5 

     K 9 7 

  Dummy      Q 7 3 

        J 4 

        K 9 6 3 

        A 5 4 3 
     You – West 

 

A 5  Give nothing away.  Clearly partner holds the T so there in no 

point in returning his suit into the K 9 in dummy.  A lead of either diamonds 

or a spade  looks hazardous as you have an isolated unsupported honour in 

both suits.  The only safe lead is a trump. 

 

Q 6  You are West with this hand against South's 4.  Partner led the 

2.  You won the trick with the A.  During the bidding South bid spades twice 

so you know he has 5 of them.  What are you going to do now? 

     K 9 4 3 

     Q 6 4 

     A K Q J 4 

     K  

  Dummy      8 6 

        A J 7 5 

        8 5 

        A T 7 4 3 
     You – West 

 

 

A 6  It looks as though South will win 5 spade tricks and 5 diamonds – 

just look at those fantastic diamonds in dummy.  Declarer will win 10 tricks and 

enough for his contract with just those two suits. Time to get ACTIVE.   You 

need to lead a small heart.  I know – don't lead away from an Ace in a suit 
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contract but here you have to keep your A  to cover dummy's Q.  This is not 

as risky a lead as it looks.   If partner has the K you might be able to defeat 

the contract but only if you attack now.  You are hoping for something like 

this:- 

 

      K 9 4 3 

      Q 6 4 

      A K Q J 4 

      K  

   7 2  Dummy      8 6 

   K 9 3        A J 7 5 

   T 7 3 2        8 5 

   Q 9 6 2        A T 7 4 3      
      You – West 

     A Q J T 5 

     T 8 2 

     9 6 

     J 8 5  

 

If East does not have that K, you have given Declarer one extra trick but if he 

does have it you might be able to defeat the contract if you get you attack in 

straight away. 

 

ACTIVE defending is called for. 

 

 

 


