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 Lesson 10 – Quiz Answers 

 

  

Q 1 How many tricks does the defence need to take to defeat the following? 

A 2 NT   6 

B 3    5 

C 4    4 

 

Q 2. West is on lead against 3NT by South.  He started with A lead which 

took the trick.  What should he do now? 

 

      A K Q 

      Q 9 4 

      5 4 3 

      Q T 8 4 

 

 5 3           N   

 K 6 5         

 Q 8 7    W          E            

 A K J 7 6          

           S 

 

Q 3. South is in 3NT. The lead is 5   What should South do on this first trick? 
 

 A 9 4  North        

 T 6       

 A J 7 2            

 K Q 5 4 

 

 Q J T 5  South    

 A 8 2    

 T 6 4            

 A J 8 

 

A 2.  Observe dummy - there is 

no future in the Club suit.  A red 

suit lead will probably give a 

trick away.  Lead a Spade which 

gives nothing away. 
 

A 3.  Start as usual by counting top tricks 1  1 

1  4 = 7.  2 more needed. 

The Spade suit looks like a good source of tricks 

but what will happen if the finesse loses?  East 

will lead back a heart. 

Try to make sure that East has no hearts left 

when/if the finesse fails.  Duck the first two heart 

tricks 
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Q 4. South is in 3NT. The lead is T What should Declarer do on this first 

trick? 

 

 K 3 2  North        

 9 2        

 7 6 2             

 K Q T 9 2 

 

 A 7 4  South    

 A K 8 4       

 A K 8 4            

 J 4 
 

 

Q 5. South is in 4.  West leads a Club, which East wins with the Ace.  What 

should he do now? 

 

   K 9 5 2    

   9 4 3        

   A Q T             

    K J 7 

   North 

     A 7   

     8 6 5 2       

     8 6 5 2            

      A 5 2 

    East 

 

A 5. There is no future in returning Partner’s suit. Lead a heart up to the 

weakness in dummy.  Observe dummy. 

 

 
 
 
 
 

A 4.  Declarer counts top tricks 2  2 2  0 

= 6.  Three more needed.  He is going to need 

those lovely Clubs. Is there a problem?  Yes.  A 

crafty defender might hold up the A and deny 

you access to dummy.   

Take the first trick in hand with the A in South 

and preserve K in dummy as an entry to the 

clubs. 

Remember the defenders can withhold their 

high cards to try to disrupt you! 
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Q 6. South is in 3NT.  Your partner, West, leads 6.  Your Q is taken by the 

A in South.  Declarer now plays off five diamond winners so you will have to 
find 2 discards.  What do you (East) throw away? 
 

   9 8 4    

   K J 9 6    

   Q 6             

    A K J 9 

   North 

     Q T 3  

     A Q T 4     

     9 8 2            

      Q 4 3 
 

A 6.    What a pity.  You don’t want to throw anything away!!!  You are thinking 

that you want to keep your heart suit over dummy, you also want to keep a 

total of 3 clubs to protect your Queen.  Cooperate with your partner and make 

sure that you keep spades so you can return partner’s suit when you get the 

chance.  Throw two hearts. 
 

Q 7. South is in 3NT.  West leads the 5 South wins this trick and leads a Club 

which you (East) take with the K.  What should you do next? 

 

   K 7 4    

   T 8 2      

   A K 5             

    Q J T 4 

   North 

     Q J T 2  

     J 7      

     9 6 4 3            

      K 7 5 

    East 

 

A 7. Return your partner’s lead and play your remaining hearts Your Spade 

suit looks attractive.  You would have led  Q if you had been on lead but you 

weren’t.  The defence does not have the time to develop two suits.   

Cooperate with partner and help him establish his suit. 
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Q 8.  You are West playing in 3 NT. The defenders have only passed during 

the auction. North leads ♠ 6.  How should you play? 

♠ A 5 3    ♠ 9 7 

♥ A 5      ♥ K 4 2 

♦ K J T 8 3    ♦ Q 9 7  

♣ A 3 2    ♣ K Q 6 5 

You (West)    Dummy (East) 

 

A 8.  Assume that the spade lead represents a low for like lead from a 

long suit in North’s hand.  You have only one stopper in the suit – the ace.  You 

have no control over who holds the ♦A.  If North has it, there is nothing you 

can do to help yourself.  But if South has it you want to try to make sure that 

when he wins with this Ace that he no longer holds any spades to return for his 

partner.  Hold up your ♠A. The Rule of 7 suggests that you should hold up for 2 

rounds and only take the Ace on the third round. 

 


