1st/2nd February 2014

  1. Liz McGowan, Sam Punch, Maida Grant, Sheila Macdonald
  2. Veronica Guy, Lucia Barrett, Michele Gladstone, Joan Lees 
  3. Fiona Abbott, Pauline Phillips, Frances Murphy, Angela Knox
  4. Shiena Lang, Liz Hunter, Moira McGregor, Ann Griffiths
  5. Pam Leith, Rona Moss, Marjory Brydon, Fiona Lawson
  6. Fiona Greenwood, Ros French, Diana Drysdale, Ying Piper 
  7. Maureen McMillan, Jennifer Marshall, H. MacNeill, L. Henderson
  8. Marion Curren, Margaret McCake, Pat Barton, Catherine Longley
  9. Frances Linehan, Margaret Bell, Beryl Campbell, Jenny Cooper
  10. Pat Wilson, Anne Ritchie, Rosemary Miller, Evelyn Outred 
  11. Kathleen Craig, Sheena Hamilton, Liz Smart, Grace Walker. 
  12. Fiona Harris, Anne Amos,  Winnie Garland, Shirley Cross
  13. Joan Forsyth, Gillian Whyte, Helen Wood, Sandra Schwitz
  14. Anne Perkins, Irene Sime, Claire Hargen, Julia Palmer
  15. Liz Grant, Mary Fenton, Evelyn Mitchell,Helen Niven
  16. Sandra Rabbitts, E. McGuire, Emily Garden, Sadie Craig.
  17. Ann Anderson, Mairi Shiels, Wendy Collier, Sarah Williams
  18. Sandra Pirie, Sheila Brunton, Abigail Wilson, Mary Behan
  19. Ann-Na Halley, Heather Murray, Marion Walker, Margaret Milne   
  20. Ann Wickens, Edna Cameron, Claire Whiteford, Alison MacDonald
  21. Isla Thom, Margaret Telford, Anne Goldie, Sheena Dunn
  22. Dorothy Coulter, Jean Bidwell, Ena Wood, Jean Stewart
  23. Alice Cowieson, Liz Johnston, Nicki Traynor, Lynn Fullerton
  24. Maureen Annan, Kathleen Don, Margaret Nicol, Grace White
  25. Liz Currie, Sheila Laird, Alison Carmichael, Anna Maciocia
  26. Tricia Hewitt, Anna Baird, Bette Pirie, Wyn Gourley.


  • Improvers’ Bidding Challenge No 8

    Improvers' Bidding Challenge No. 8 Aimed at District/Local/Club Masters and Novices.  Entries from those in classes are particularly welcome. Please submit your entries to emailProtector.addCloakedMailto("ep_2ffdb4ae", 1); by 10th...

    Read More ...

  • Improvers’ Bidding Challenge 7 – April 2017

    Improvers' Bidding Challenge 7 Results

    Read More ...

  • Summer Bronze Congress won by Katharine Bailey & David Hamilton

    Katharine Bailey and David Hamilton won the Bronze event at Peebles Congress last weekend. (photo)

    Read More ...

  • Summer Congress Report from the Bronze Ranks

    SBU Peebles Congress for National and Bronze level players. Please read this report about the Bronze section of the SBU Congress held recently at Peebles Hydro. We went to the SBU Summer Congress last weekend!  We were rather worried that we had overstepped the mark, but we had been told that the SBU were running a Bronze level player congress, in tandem with their main elite congress.  The SBU has recognised that...

    Read More ...

  • Summer National Congress at Peebles

    The SBU Summer National Congress is now over, with the gongs going as follows: Congress Pairs - Pieter van Dijk Trophy - Jim Forsyth & Susan Aitchison Congress Teams - Sam Punch, Tim Rees, Stephen Peterkin & Les Steel Consolation Pairs - Brian Short & Alan Goodman Consolation Teams - Mike Clack, Lyn Fry, Pearl Murphy & Denis Murphy Swiss Pairs - Jeff Wilkins & Ann Wilkins Swiss Teams - Joyce White, Bill White, Tim...

    Read More ...

  • 26th European Youth Team Championships

    The European Youth Team Championships took place in July 2017 in Šamorín, Slovakia. See the team "video postcard" at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Lv30KfU8mc&feature=youtu.be! For the U26 Open Team Championship, the selectors decided to build on the experience gained in the Junior Camrose and selected the same team for the U26 Open Team Championship.  Abi Wilson & Jun Nakamaru-Pinder, Gints Freimanis & Stewart...

    Read More ...

  • EBU Score

    The SBU has  purchased a licence for EBUScore for use in National Events. If any Advanced / National TD needs to download this for use in a national event or practice please contact Christine Walker

    Read More ...

  • Obituary: Sam Leckie

    Sam Leckie sadly passed away after a long illness in June 2017. Many of our current players will have no memory of Sam who stopped playing competitive bridge in the 1990s but those of a certain age will remember Sam as a colossus of Scottish Bridge. Sam represented Great Britain in a junior friendly then soon thereafter formed his partnership with Victor Goldberg, described by Liz McGowan in her must read history of...

    Read More ...

  • President's Report - June 2017

    One year gone and to be honest due to the resignations a difficult year and my thanks are due to my team for doing the extra work required. I know results, including posting and tournament directing involving starting times and lack of Wi-Fi, have spoilt some of our tournaments, these are on our urgent list for improvement. I have to say our web page is not the easiest for finding items. Currently research is...

    Read More ...

  • Chairman's Cup (29 July - 3 Aug 2017)

    The Scotland team for the Chairman's Cup in Sweden will be Harry Smith, Roy Bennett, Alex Adamson and Mike McGinley. This event is part of the Swedish Bridge Festival, and is run by the Swedish Bridge Federation.  

    Read More ...

  • National League 2017

    A list of the teams entered so far appears at the end of this article.  If we have 22 or more teams entered, we shall have both a Division 2 and a Division 3.  The two weekends of National League are October 28 & 29 at the Buchanan BC, Glasgow and November 18 & 19 at the New Melville BC, Edinburgh.  Entries are now being taken with a closing date of July 15th 2017.  The entry fee remains at £300 per team (Juniors half...

    Read More ...

SBU National & Bronze Congresses at Peebles Hydro

For all enquiries please contact sbucongressdesk

Peebles Hydro

Summer National & Bronze Congresses
14-16 July 2017

Autumn National & Bronze Congresses
20-22 October 2017

Winter National Congress
8-10 December 2017

10th Overseas Congress
Paphos 2018

Sunday 29 April 2018 to Saturday 5 May 2018
at Athena Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus

Congress brochure

2017 Overseas Congress


SBU Congress Reports & Information

More information on our congresses