Congratulations to Andrew Symons and Iain Taylor - winners of the Spence Cup Inter District Pairs on 27th May 2017 at the Carlton,

Spence Cup results.

Congratulations to Gints Freimanis and Liam O'Brien for convincingly winning the Junior National Pairs at the Melville Club in Edinburgh on 27th May 2017. 

1 Gints Freimanis & Liam O'Brien 67.71% 
2= Donald Mackillop & John Russell 55.21%
2= Lelin Yuan & David McCallum 55.21%

Full results

Unfortunately the Frischmann Trophy disappeared a few years, whereas Gints disappeared shortly before his victory was confirmed leaving just Liam to take the plaudits.

Congratulations to Jim Forsyth and Nigel Guthrie, who won the Swiss Pairs at Prestwick on Sunday 7th May 2017.  Runners up were Paul Maiolani and Jim McMenemy, with Alex Adamson and Mike McGinley in 3rd place.  

The Silver Prize was awarded to Barry Murphy and Ken Crooks, while the Bronze Prize went to Rani Sinnak & Morag Ridley.

Congratulations to John Bryson and Jim Tudor, winners of the National pairs at Glasgow Bridge Centre on Sunday 23rd April 2017.

Source results can be found at

Congratulations to Norman and Mary Stewart, winners of the Kennedy Pairs for Club Masters and Novices at St Andrew BC, Glasgow on 23rd April 2017.

Congratulations to Stuart McCreadie and Pat Smith from Kilwinning BC, who have won the 2017 Easter Pairs with 75.69%.  Runners up were Alec Clark and Michael Mcgee from Kilmarnock on 70.63%, with Val Johnstone and Mary Millar of Kelso third on 70.24%.

Full results

You can jump to the list of club winners.

Congratulations to Marion Curran, Margaret McCabe, Pat Barton and Catherine Longley, winners of the Farquharson Trophy in Newtonmore on 26th March 2017:



Silver and Bronze winners:


Full results

Congratulations to Val Gibson and Pearl Murphy, winners of the SBU Women's Pairs at Newtonmore on Saturday 25th March 2017.

Full results for Session 1 and Session 2.

Congratulations to Joe Duxbury, Ian Petitt, Rob Hickling and Henry Webb - overall winners of the SBU Bronze Teams at the weekend.

Here are the full results of the SBU Bronze Teams event on 11th Mach 2017.

Heat winners were as follows:

  • Ayshire: Maureen Rennie, Sue Fraser, Gordon Cunningham and Fiona Braid
  • Central: Chris White, Grace White, Les McConachie and Liz Currie
  • East: David Houston, David Land, Iain McLaren and Fiona McLaren
  • Highland: Wilma Haliburton, Ann Rennie, Pam Roxburgh and Ann Napier
  • North: Duxbury, Petitt, Hickling and Webb
  • South: no heat
  • West: Neil Bulleid, Ron Hounsell, Jck Wallace and David Bruce


Congratulations to Brian Short, Alan Goodman, John Murdoch and Iain Sime, winners of the Men's Teams in Dundee on 26th February 2017.  Joint runners up were Roy Bennett, David Liggat, Sandy Duncan & Jim Hay and David Weir, Douglas Mitchell, John di Mambro and Gints Freimanis,

Full results are at Dundee BC website


Congratulations to Iain Sime and John Matheson, winners of the Men's Pairs in Dundee on 25th February 2017.  Runners up were Gints Freimanis and John di Mambro with George Plant and Peter Moss in third place.

Full results are at Dundee BC website


The Scottish Cup Plate Final was played on 19 February in the New Melville Bridge Club.

Cathy FERGUSON (Joan Lees, Peter Hodgson, Willie Nelson)


Ron MOODIE (Bob Hunter, Gavin Christie. Paul Cozens) by 20 imps.

The Winter Fours has been won by Mike Ash, Chris Chambers, Paul Gipson, Alec Gipson. 

Runners Up were Sandy Duncan, Jim Hay, Jun Nakamaru- Pinder and Paul Barton.

The Subsidiary Final was won by Les Steel, John Matheson, Alan Goodman and Brian Short.

Subsidiary Final Runners Up were Sam Punch, Stephen Peterkin, Derek Sanders and Tim Rees.

Here are the full details.

Meantime, the Winter Swiss Teams was won by Duncan Rodger, Ian Brookes, Suresh Tyagi and Bill Durning - full results for this event are here.

Congratulations to Duncan Rodger, Ian Brookes, Suresh Tyagi and Bill Durning, winners of the Winter Swiss Teams on 29th January 2017.

Here is a link to the Winter Swiss results as a PDF version.